All You Need to Know About ISL: India’s Top Football League

The Indian Super League (ISL) is a top-rated professional football league in India. The league, which was founded in 2013, has quickly become one of the most popular sports leagues in the country, drawing in large crowds, fans, and young talents from around the world. The league has seen tremendous growth with fans checking ISL live scores, streaming sites, and stats to stay updated on the game. The ISL is organized by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) and the IMG-Reliance. In this write-up, we’ll highlight everything you need to know about the Indian Super League.


The ISL follows a round-robin format, in which each of the teams play each other twice, once at home and once away. At the end of the league stage, the top four teams advance to the semifinals, with the winners of those matches facing off in the final to determine the champion. The league typically runs from October to March, with each team playing a total of 18 matches.


The ISL currently features 11 teams from various cities across India, including:

  • ATK Mohun Bagan FC: This team was formed due to a merger of two famous clubs in India, Mohun Bagan and ATK(Atletico de Kolkata) in 2020. The merger made the team the most successful team in the ISL. It has also won the ISL record 3 times.
  • Bengaluru FC: Established in 2013, Bengaluru is based in Bengaluru, Karnataka. The club is the fourth-most successful club in the ISL. Among its trophies are two Federation Cup titles, one Indian Super League title, and a Super Cup championship.
  • Chennaiyin FC: The team was founded in 2014 and is based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu. It is considered one of the most successful clubs in the league. They have won the ISL twice, in 2015 and 2017-18 seasons.
  • FC Goa: Nicknamed as Gaurs, the club was established in 2014 and plays its home matches at the Fatorda Stadium in Margao. They won both the ISL League Winners Shield and the Indian Super Cup in the 2019-20 season.
  • Mumbai City FC: The team was founded in 2014 during the inaugural season of the Indian Super League (ISL), and is based in Mumbai, Maharashtra.  It holds the record as the first club to win both the ISL title and League Winners Shield, a feat it achieved in the 2020–21 season.
  • Northeast United FC: This club was founded in 2014, as part of the first clubs in the Indian Super League. The club plays its home matches at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati.
  • Kerala Blasters FC: Founded in 2014, Kerala Blasters is based in Kochi, Kerala. The Blasters hold the record for three-time runners-up of the Indian Super League and hold the record for the highest league attendance. They have a huge fan following and are known as the Manjappada or “Yellow Army”
  • Jamshedpur FC: Founded in 2017, Jamshedpur is based in Jamshedpur, Jharkhand, and plays their home games at JRD Sports Complex. They won the ISL League Shield during the 2021–22 season.
  • Odisha FC: They were formed in the year 2019 and played their first season in the ISL. Formerly founded as Delhi Dynamos Football Club, the team was renamed to Odisha Football Club. 
  • Hyderabad FC: Though this team was formed in 2019, it was able to beat established teams on the pitch and claim its first ISL championship in the 2021-22 season.  
  • East Bengal Club: This is one of the oldest and most successful football clubs in India football. It is also one of the most widely supported football clubs in Asia. The club is a founding member of the National Football League, which it has won three times. It has also won a record IFA Shield, eight Federation Cups, three Super Cups, and many more.
See also  Countries Performing at the Top in Eurovision


In the ISL, there is a mix of top-tier Indian and international players, with the latter often being brought in as “marquee players” to boost the league’s profile and attract fans. Many of the international players are retired or semi-retired footballers, seeking one last pay-day in a less demanding football league. The league also features many well-known Indian footballers, including several who have played for the national team.


The ISL has been able to attract some well-known players like Diego Forlan, Alessandro Del Piero, Roberto Carlos, David James, Robbie Keane, and many more.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button